This unusual little town house nestled at the base of Silverton tower was designed by architect Robin Dods and built in 1906 for his brother Dr. Espie Dods as a combined residence and medical consulting room. The design was inspired by the Arts and Crafts movement which was a common influence in Scottish Dods’s work.
Originally the property stood next to the grand family home belonging to their stepfather Dr Charles Marks but it was demolished along with its grand weeping fig tree in 1982 to make way for the adjacent tower block.
Although Espie only lived and operated out of here for a few years before moving up the road to Callendar House it remained in the family and was rented out to doctors for ensuing decades until around 1980. After completion of Silverton the house was converted to a restaurant.
There is also a lower ground floor below which is not visible from the street and in its time it would have housed the servants, kitchen and scullery while the street level would have had the medical room/s at the front along with the bedrooms and living room of the family.
97 Wickham Tce