Treasury Brisbane's History
Although the original building was first erected in 1886, 2020 marked 25 years for the site to be housing one of Brisbane’s premier entertainment and accommodation destinations, Treasury Brisbane.
Designed in Italian Renaissance style by Queensland colonial architect JJ Clark, the iconic, heritage-listed building on the inner-city block bordered by William, Queen, George and Elizabeth Streets that we know and love today was actually built in three stages between 1886 and 1928.
The original building was occupied by the Premier, Colonial Secretary, Registrar-General, Treasury, Mines, Works, Police and Auditor-General.
Stage two, which involved the Elizabeth Street section, was finished in February 1893, and this wing was occupied by the Registrar of Titles, Justice, Works, Public Instruction and the State Savings Bank.
The third stage took 6 years to build and officially opened in 1928.
In 1993 – after much heated and controversial public discussion – the green light was given for the building to undertake a new lease on life, funded by Jupiters Limited. The 2-year conservation project was one of the biggest our city had ever seen, involving over 4,000 dedicated and specialist tradespeople to bring her back to her former glory.
The century-old sandstone exteriors and many of the stunning art deco interior features were retained and the hard work has been recognised with a number of Queensland Heritage Council Gold Awards since.
Nice to know – there are over 11,000 LED lights on the building’s exterior and you will often see it lit up in celebration of seasonal events and special themes.
Image credits - Image 1, 2 & 3: State Library of Queensland
130 William St