Prolific Anglican church architect JH Buckeridge designed this simple Arts and Crafts inspired structure with a shingle roof that was built in 1891 using timber from Esk Valley. Although it was to be a temporary replacement for the stone church that had stood on this site since 1873 until being irreparably damaged in a storm in 1890, it is still in use today and is heritage listed.
The 1883 built rectory next door is also still operational, and together with a tiny burial ground of graves from the 1800’s, this tiny picturesque scrap of land behind the Suncorp Stadium is all that remains of Brisbane’s first free settler’s cemetery. It was established on land running from here all the way up to Neal Macrossan Park and divided into denominational sections, this being the Anglican one. At the time Hale St was a minor road known as Cemetery Road.
Until the original church was built, all services were conducted in the Anglican section’s mortuary, hardly an inspirational setting. The church in its early days went on to serve the community at large including the inmates and employees of the dreaded Brisbane Gaol that once loomed up the road where The Barracks are today.