The Engine Room Cafe & Bistro
THE ENGINE ROOM CAFE & BISTRO HAS PERMANENTLY CLOSED.
The Engine Room Café & Bistro occupies a heritage-listed red brick engine room in prime position on the Teneriffe waterfront.
Having played a significant role in Teneriffe’s history, the engine room was built in 1908 to house 2 ammonia compressors, providing refrigeration to cold storage rooms for the wool industry. Then in World War II it was used as a submarine servicing site and finally, today the building has been reincarnated as a café, which is run by a social enterprise.
There can be few more scenic places around inner city Brisbane than this to sit on the deck soaking up the sunshine and enjoying a coffee while taking in the views across the river to Bulimba.
Disclaimer – At the time of visiting when it opened in June 2017 the menu offered an extensive range of breakfast and lunch dishes that could be improved upon in both quality and value in order to be a worthy match for the stunning coveted location.
Nice to know – There is a ramp with good wheelchair and pram access.
In a nutshell – Go here for a coffee, a piece of history and an unbeatable view.
The Engine Room Café & Bistro
71 Macquarie St
0422 416 115